User Access

User Access

About Access Rules

 

User Access rules enable an admin to apply restrictions to the content on their platform. There are several ruling types to choose from which can apply to a channel, page or video library container.

You can set access rules in the Access tab located throughout the back-end of your platform under Channel Settings, and while editing a page or video library container.

Below are the standard sets of access rules you’ll see on any Access page. Click on any link to learn more about that rule. 

Additional rules that only apply to video library containers:


Public


The Public access rule is active by default everywhere on your platform. It allows anyone visiting your site to have access to the content or channel.


Logged In Users

This rule only allows logged-in users to view content.

When a user who is not logged in lands on any page that has this rule activated it will prompt them with an Authentication Required window so they can login. Once they have logged in successfully, they’ll be taken back to the content page for viewing.

Back on the container Access tab, toggle this rule to make it active.

 

Private listing: An optional setting to make the content private. This setting hides the video thumbnail from being seen anywhere on the frontend of your platform unless the user is logged into their account


Password Protected

When this rule is activated it will prompt all users with an Authentication Required window

To apply this rule, click on its Configure button

Next, set a password and then click Save

Back on the Access Rules page, you’ll now be able to toggle the rule on.


Restricted Users

This rule only allows users who are logged in and in the configured user list or group to access this content.

To apply this rule, click on its Configure button first.

Starting on the Add Users tab, this is where you can add individual users:

      • In the Users field type a user registered email address, and then you’ll be prompted to click Add Users To Restricted users
      • You can remove any user by clicking their Remove button in the name list

To add a group of users to the restricted list, click on the Add Groups tab:

        • In the Groups field type the name of the pre-defined user group
        • When you see the user group name pop up, select it and then click on Add Groups to Restricted Groups
      • You can remove any added user group by clicking its Remove button in the name list

Click Done.

Back on the main Access Rules screen, you can choose if you want to make this rule private (Enabled). You can always come back to disable the private listing later on.

Private listing: An optional setting to make the content private. This setting hides the video thumbnail from being seen anywhere on the frontend of your platform unless the user is logged in and listed in the configured restricted user rule.

Back on the container Access tab, toggle this rule to make it active.


Purchase Content

This rule only applies to VOD, Live Events, and VOD Series containers. It gets automatically applied when Purchase is configured and enabled in any of these video containers. 


Email Gate

This rule requires viewers to enter an email address to gain access to the content.

Think of it as a form the user fills out along with any other optional requirements you’ve chosen. You can generate a CSV report to view all the collected email addresses and information.

The email address a user enters does not have to be a registered account to your platform for the rule to work.

To apply this rule, click on its Configure button first.

Starting on the Configuration tab, this is where you can add optional requirements:

 

      • Under Additional Fields you can ask for:
        • Name (First & Last) and
        • Company name
      • Under Marketing Consent you can ask for:
        • Prompt for marketing consent
        • When the marketing consent box is checked you can optionally select an existing page on your platform from the drop available. This creates a link to “More Information” related to your content.

      • You can add a Subtitle to this form, which gives information to the user about the content they’re about to view
      • Under Consent Text:
        • To customize the consent text field it requires you to check the box “Make consent field mandatory” that’s underneath it first

After making your selection, do not forget to click SAVE, which brings you back to the Access Rules page.

Back on the container Access tab, toggle this rule to make it active.

Once the rule is active, and users have registered to view the video content, you now have an option to download the CSV file of all the email registrations.

The CSV can be viewed in Excel or imported directly into a mailing list service like MailChimp.

Click Done, once finished.


Channel Access

The following rules can apply to a channel:

On a multi-channel platform you can set access rules by individual channels.


Page Access

The following rules can apply to a page:


Video Access

The following rules can apply to a video library container: